Gus Granger just emailed me with a part-time job offer that just sounds too good to be true.
Greetings,
If you are still looking for a job in a well-paid part-time(3-4 hours a day) job with one of top-rated Management Companies please e-mail your resume and a short description of your former activities only to my corporative email address: hddep@fm-company.net
For more info about working and cooperation opportunities will be sent by your request.
Yours faithfully,
Recruitment Office,
FMCompany
This unsolicited email can be a sight for sore unemployed eyes. But it could also be a ticking time bomb, aka, a scam.
I searched FMCompany and found a firm called First Mortgage Company. I called the firm to make sure they had no connection to Gus’ email and, as I suspected, they did not send out the email, don’t know who Gus is and don’t have any part-time gigs available right now.
I then checked the website addresses in the email, one attached to Gus’ name — bobpond.com — and one in the body of the email — fm-company.net.
For BobPond I found a site that says, “This Web site is coming soon.” And for FM-Company I got:
“Dear Visitor, This website is Under Construction. Thank You for your understanding,
FMCOMPANY
I also emailed Gus to his “corporative” email:
Hello Gus,
I am a career columnist for MSNBC.com and I would like to talk to you about this job opportunity you mention below. Please get back to me ASAP.
The sites you include in this do not exist and I’d like to find out exactly what type of firm you work for.
Thanks,
Eve
I’ll get back to you guys once I hear for old Gus.
What do you guys think? Should a person looking for work send their resume to Gus given what I found out about this email by doing a simple Web search?
At the risk of beating a dead horse, I’m going to warn all of you yet again to beware of job or work-at-home offers you get via email.
The Better Business Bureau has been warning that job scams are on the rise, big time, right now.
“We have a lot on work at home scams. In addition to rebate processing, the secret shopper scam is HUGE right now. We are hearing from people every day who lost money (and a lot of it!) to that scam,” says Alison Southwick, a spokeswoman for the agency.
Here’s a link she offered to job-scam red flags:
* Employer e-mails are rife with grammatical and spelling errors
* E-mails purporting to be from job posting Web sites claiming there’s a problem with a job hunter’s account
* An employer asks for extensive personal information such as social security or bank account numbers
* An employer offers the opportunity to become rich without leaving home
* An employer asks for money upfront
* The job requires the employee to wire money through Western Union or MoneyGram
I know many of you are desperate out there, but don’t let desperation cloud your common sense.
April 9th, 2009 at 12:02 pm
It’s a scam. I just got this spam in my inbox, but it’s from “Brock Hinson”.
I would add red flags:
-Hyperlinks that don’t match the name (either completely different, or weird hyphenating, etc.)
-nonsensical names in email (in “Brock’s” case, “hfrtt”)
April 9th, 2009 at 2:38 pm
I got this email today too and googled to find your blog. The website is registered to a person/company in Beijing (I did a whois search), so I really think it is a scam too. Thank you for posting this on your blog though, very helpful to find out immediately that other people are receiving the same BS messages. My message was from “James Street” btw.
April 9th, 2009 at 2:51 pm
love your detective work S. Con. forgot to do a whois search, but that’s a great suggestion for all of you out there. go to whois.org, put in the web address and, if it’s available, you might be able to find info about who owns the website.
April 13th, 2009 at 6:59 am
Readers Digest recently published a list of credible websites that offer legitimate work-at-home jobs. I published that in my blog post:
Where to Find Work At Home Jobs